New Leadership in Physics

Professor Daniel Kim-Shapiro
Prof. Daniel Kim-Shapiro

Professor Keith Bonin has stepped down as Chair of the Department of Physics after serving more than two terms. The Department is forever grateful for Dr. Bonin’s selfless commitment, visionary leadership, and responsible stewardship.

Assuming the role of Chair is Professor Daniel Kim-Shapiro. Dr. Kim-Shapiro is also director of the Translational Science Center, Harbert Family Distinguished Chair, and leads a flourishing biophysics research group.

Professor Oana Jurchescu will take on the role of Associate Chair of Physics previously held by Dr. Kim-Shapiro. Dr. Jurchescu directs a highly successful organic and flexible electronics research group.